Task Force Members
Cheryl Kendrick, Co-Chair
Ms. Kendrick is the past board chair of both the San Diego Convention Center and the California State Commission on the Status of Women. She has served on the boards of the National Conference for Community and Justice and the Huntington’s Disease Society of America. Ms. Kendrick received her Bachelor of Arts degree in French from the University of Connecticut.
Stephen Cushman, Co-Chair
Stephen Cushman is president of Cushman Enterprises. He is currently the board chair of the Port Commissioners, board chair of the College of Business Administration at San Diego State University and board chair of the San Diego Hospital Association. Mr. Cushman holds a degree in business administration from California Western University.
Richard Bartell
Mr. Bartell is general partner of Bartell Hotels. He serves on the board of directors of the San Diego Tourism Promotion Corporation.
Susie Baumann
Susie Baumann owns the Bali Hai and Lighthouse restaurants in Shelter Island. Ms. Baumann is board treasurer for the California Restaurant Association and has served as a board member for the association since 1988. She currently serves as secretary for San Diego Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Directors and is active in the Shelter Island Association.
Gordon Boerner
Gordon Boerner is senior vice president and administrative services manager of San Diego National Bank. Mr. Boemer serves on the San Diego Downtown Partnership Board of Directors and is board chair of the Local Initiatives Support Corporation.
Patrick Duffy
Patrick Duffy is general manager of the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel. Mr. Duffy currently serves as board president to the San Diego Hotel Motel Association. He is a member of the San Diego Tourism Promotion Corporation’s board of directors.
Bill Evans
Bill Evans is executive vice president of the Evans Hotel Group. Mr. Evans has served as a board member for the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce, California Hotel-Motel Association, San Diego Convention and Visitors Bureau and the San Diego Historical Society. He is currently a board member and past president & chair of the San Diego Hotel-Motel Association. Mr. Evans earned a degree from Cornell University’s School of Hotel and Restaurant Administration.
Pete Garcia
Pete Garcia is retired and previously served as president and CEO of the University Mechanical and Engineering Contractors. Mr. Garcia is chair of the San Diego Economic Development Foundation and is a member of the SDSU Science and Engineering Advisory Board. He previously served as vice chair of the State of California Commission for Economic Development. A native Cuban, Mr. Garcia graduated from the University of Florida with a degree in industrial engineering.
Lorena Gonzalez
Lorena Gonzalez is the secretary-treasurer & CEO of the San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council. She is the first woman to lead the Labor Council since its charter in 1902. Ms. Gonzalez previously served as the Labor Council’s political director from September 2006 to January 2008. A native San Diegan, Ms. Gonzalez holds degrees from Stanford University, Georgetown University and the UCLA School of Law.
Lani Lutar
Lani Lutar is president and chief executive officer of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association. She served as executive director of the Asian Business Association of San Diego and as a board member of the San Diego Asian Film Foundation and the Japan Society of San Diego and Tijuana. Ms. Lutar graduated from San Diego State University and earned a master's degree from the School of International Relations & Pacific Studies at the University of California, San Diego.
Fred Maas
Fred Maas is the president and CEO of Black Mountain Ranch LLC. He is board chair of the Centre City Development Corporation. Mr. Maas is a founding director of Move San Diego and CleanTECH San Diego. He is an attorney and graduate of Hobart College and Syracuse University College of Law.
Mike McDowell
Mike McDowell is executive vice president for corporate affairs at Atlas Hotels and is CEO of the San Diego Lodging Industry Association. Mr. McDowell is also vice president of the House of Hospitality Association Board and board chair of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association. Mr. McDowell received his degree from University of the Redlands.
Vince Mudd
Vince Mudd is president and owner of Office Interiors, a full-service commercial design/build office interior firm. Mr. Mudd currently serves as board chair of the San Diego Red Cross and as treasurer of the San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation. Mr. Mudd also serves as member to the City of San Diego’s Charter Review Committee as well as the State Compensation Insurance Fund’s Audit Committee.
Bob Nelson
Bob Nelson is an advertising and public relations executive with 30 years of experience in government and communications. His firm, BNA Communications, Inc. advises a diverse list of clients, including public utilities, labor  unions, and non-profit corporations. Mr. Nelson currently serves as Secretary-Treasurer of San Diego Theatres, Inc, manager of the San Diego Civic Theatre and Balboa Theatre and as chair of the City of San Diego Citizens Commission on Revenue and Economic Competitiveness.
Bill Sauls
Bill Sauls is an attorney with his own law firm is downtown San Diego practicing in the areas of business law and estate planning. With over 20 years of community involvement, he currently serves as a member of the Centre City Advisory Committee, on the Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the Downtown San Diego Partnership, and as chair of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors of the East Village Association.
Mark Steele
Mark Steele owns his own planning and architectural firm, The MW Steele Group. Mr. Steele previously worked with Dale Naegle Associates and served as chair of the City of San Diego’s Planning Commission, president of the San Diego Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and president of Lambda Alpha International. Mr. Steele is a graduate of the University of Kentucky.

Diane Takvorian
Diane Takvorian is executive director and co-founder of the Environmental Health Coalition. She is the recipient of a 2008 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award for her effective approach to creating a healthier environment for low income communities across the state. Ms. Takvorian earned a Bachelor of Science and a Masters of Social Work with public policy, community organization, and administration emphasis from San Diego State University.

-Mayor's Citizen Task Force on the San Diego Convention Center Project-
www.sandiego.gov  •  www.visitsandiego.com  •  www.portofsandiego.org